Delphi Academy Boston’s Blog

February 4, 2011

Delphi Acadmey Alumni Success

Delphi Alum, Jessika Williams

After Delphi, I was admitted into Boston Latin School. I graduated in 2008, as BLS is a school that starts with 7th grade and ends with the 12th. I am now attending Spelman College in Atlanta, GA. It is an all-female Historically Black College in close proximity to Morehouse College and Clark Atlanta University. I am majoring in Biochemistry, while pursuing certification with the American Chemical Society. I intend to pursue a career in Forensic Toxicology after Spelman. I am currently a recipient of the Dean Scholarship (Spelman), the SMART Scholarship (Federal), and the Edwards Scholarship (Boston-based).

Delphi prepared me for Spanish and Math in both college and high school. When I continued on to Boston Latin, I had already learned some Algebra (even though they put me in Pre-Algebra), and I had most of my Spanish terms and my pronunciation down pat.

At Delphi I was taught to use in gradients in my studies. I learned basic datums like, starting with the lowest level and working your way up. Always finishing one level before moving on to the next. I applied these datums to my college education where I had passed Calculus in high school, but I knew I did not know enough to move on to Calculus 2. With that, I took Calculus in a summer program before freshman year and retook it my first semester at Spelman. At that point, I knew I could continue on to Calculous 2; I was still ahead of most students.

For more information about Delphi academy, visit is on our website. www.delphiboston.org.

1 Comment »

  1. Congratulations on your success Jessica. The Wornum Family

    Comment by Carmen Wornum — June 9, 2015 @ 5:26 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.